Basic GP appointment tomorrow

Standard

Ok, so I have an appointment with my GP tomorrow, for a few things.

  1. I need my Mirena IUD removed.  I had this inserted in 2009 to deal with really crappy periods, and have LOVED it ever since, but I need it removed so the hormones it contains will leave my body, and so that my test results will be accurate. There is vague information about this online, mostly geared towards women who want to be egg donors and want to find out if they have to remove Mirena first, and it seems like there are answers for and against.  I just want to do everything right, so out it comes.  I must say I am a bit worried, because I fear the issues I had initially, which prompted me to have it inserted will come back, and that will suck.  I also read about “Post Mirena Crash”, but I am hoping that’s just a bunch of bloggy drama.  Time will tell.
  2. I need to talk to her about methotrexate.  I had been on methotrexate for about 6 months for severe psoriasis, but went off of it about five weeks ago, because it was making me sick.  I need to confirm how long I should wait to harvest eggs, as it’s a shitty drug that can cause birth defects in a small number of cases, so I want it to be cleared from my body as well.  If she doesn’t have the answer or recommendation, I will talk to my dermatologist on my appointment on Friday.
  3. I asked her office to make me an appointment with a fertility clinic about a month ago, and I haven’t heard anything, so I need to confirm this has been done.  If my GP office has already made the referral, I will get all up in the fertility clinic’s face I guess 😛
  4. I need a requisition for the multitude of tests the clinics in India want, in order to give me an idea of what type of procedures I am looking at, and how much it will cost.

I will try to post after my appointment tomorrow, or at least later this week.

About namaskarambaby

We are a BC couple who are about to start the process of having a baby using a gestational surrogate in India. We would like to share the process, so the steps will be clearly laid out for other couples who would like to know about this journey, as they may be in a similar situation. We also will likely stay anonymous, as this is a bit of a private process, and we are so early on in the process, that we aren't even sure it's going to work. "Namaskaram" is a greeting in Hindi (the official language of India), which is appropriate for people of all ages... I guess it's similar to Namaste, which is commonly used in the yoga community. This is our first blog, so bear with us. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

