More blood work

Standard

Ok, so anyone who knows me, knows I hate having my blood drawn. I am ok with injections for the most part, but anything going into a vein is probably my cryptonite.

I called the clinic to see when they wanted me back and I had to go back immediately for an additional test, so we went, and the anesthesiologist wasn’t there, so the nurse was going to try for the butterfly in my other hand, but didn’t seem to easily find a juicy vein, so I just suggested she use my arm. She did a great job and found one the first try, so while I was all yucky and sick feeling, I was soooo happy she didn’t have to do multiple pokes or dig around much. Yay!

For all you health care providers back in Canada, while the nurses were wearing pretty pink scrubs, they did not wear gloves at any time, and in most cases were in flip flops or bare feet. Of note, is that my blood drops from earlier in the day were still there, except they were mushed around a bit. It’s just different here, I still felt safe and that I was in no time danger of contamination, and i am a bit of a germaphobe, so that’s saying something.

In other news, we saw our surrogate by fluke in the street. She was with her wee daughter. We greeted each other, but when you don’t speak each others’ languages, there isnt much more else to say or do. It was awkward, and i still wish there was more connection…. We shall see.

It rained for all of thirty seconds while we were out. Warm and light, no monsoons yet.

Also, lastly, I have started feeding the India crows on our balcony. I need some sort of animal interaction in the absence of our three boys, so since I love crows in Canada, I am adopting some here.

About namaskarambaby

We are a BC couple who are about to start the process of having a baby using a gestational surrogate in India. We would like to share the process, so the steps will be clearly laid out for other couples who would like to know about this journey, as they may be in a similar situation. We also will likely stay anonymous, as this is a bit of a private process, and we are so early on in the process, that we aren't even sure it's going to work. "Namaskaram" is a greeting in Hindi (the official language of India), which is appropriate for people of all ages... I guess it's similar to Namaste, which is commonly used in the yoga community. This is our first blog, so bear with us. Stay tuned.

3 responses »

    • Yes, we had a bunch done in Canada, but they do testing for some a wee bit differently there, so they did a few more. One for recent exposure to HIV for both of us, and then they did some blood sugar testing in me, because I have a bit of high blood sugars to begin with.

  1. Adopting crows?!? How am I not surprised hahaha! Glad you are having a nice time and feel safe, that is important so it is good to hear! What a fluke to see your surrogate in the street. Thinking of you

Leave a Reply

