Still here

Standard

We are feeling a lot better, probably about 80% for me and over 90% better for hubby. We did venture out to a grocery store yesterday, but nowhere interesting today.

I have to say, the clinic visits are not that promising at present. My blood pressure goes up with the injections and blood work has been drawn to determine if things are moving forward. I have an ultrasound tomorrow to see how things are progressing too, though after being so ill and having whacky periods, I dunno. I think the near faint in the clinic freaked everyone out.

Unless the scales here are lying (which I don’t doubt), I have lost somewhere between 20-30 lbs between my last illness at home and this one. On my current big girl frame that’s not too much, but in such a short time, it’s a fair bit I think… No wonder my body is in a bit of a tail spin.

In other news, there have been beautiful monsoons many of the days, though no thunder or lightening to speak of. I open the door to our balcony when it monsoons and just enjoy the torrential spectacle…. It’s amazing!

The grocery store was ummmm… Wow. Not much there. It was one of the fancier ones in Mumbai, from what I can gather, and we still didn’t find much. We are so scared of the food here after the horrible illness, we are living off Campbells soup and toast and juice. It’s romantic though, hubby cooks the soup always, and now his new name is Soup Walla (the old men who walk around India selling Chai from vats they carry on their head or shoulders are called Chai Wallas here).

We still haven’t found any laundry detergent or dish washing liquid, so that will be the next step. We did get laundry done once, but it was fairly expensive, and to be honest, we didn’t feel comfy sending our undies out… So we are getting low. I guess shower gel would work in a pinch. Housekeeping does our dishes, but there aren’t very many, so we would like to be able to wash some as needed.

Funny thing too… I was silly and brought a purse that is woven from strips of recycled paper (lined with fabric), and while it’s holding up well so far, I haven’t been out in the rain much. I noticed that there were some bag vendors next to the grocery store and saw a bag that was ok (not great, but acceptable) and asked how much it was. The vendor said it was 1500 INR (about $26 CAD) and there was no freaking way it was worth that. So I pretty much got offended and walked away. So he said to name a price, but I didn’t even want to bargain at that point, so I kept walking. He kept stating prices, 1000, 900, 500, all the way down to 300 INR ($5.00).

So if you come here, bring your astute bargaining skills, or you will get ripped off. I didn’t buy the bag, it wasn’t worth going back for… But when I do venture out next, I will be ready. I don’t want to take food off a vendor’s plate, but I don’t want to pay quadruple for a piece of crap either.

Alright, I just wanted to poke my nose up to say we are here….

About namaskarambaby

We are a BC couple who are about to start the process of having a baby using a gestational surrogate in India. We would like to share the process, so the steps will be clearly laid out for other couples who would like to know about this journey, as they may be in a similar situation. We also will likely stay anonymous, as this is a bit of a private process, and we are so early on in the process, that we aren't even sure it's going to work. "Namaskaram" is a greeting in Hindi (the official language of India), which is appropriate for people of all ages... I guess it's similar to Namaste, which is commonly used in the yoga community. This is our first blog, so bear with us. Stay tuned.

2 responses »

  1. It sounds like you’ve had a rough time of it, but it’s sweet that you and hubby are still able to find enjoyment / romance amidst the sickness and worry! Love the “soup walla”, lol!

Leave a Reply

