It’s official… India hates me.

Standard

I have spent another 36 hours deathly sick. I don’t know what keeps getting me here. Normally I have what I consider to be a strong immune system, but every germ in this country seems to have gotten to me. Well, that’s a slight exaggeration, I don’t seem to have malaria or dengue fever or typhoid, so that’s a positive. It’s so hard to be sick, then nearly better, then totally sick again, and over and over.

At this point, we are just counting down the days to go home. Get home, get moved, get healthier, get on with getting on. Think about what our future holds.

It’s funny to hear my husband say, “when we get on the plane, I am eating EVERYTHING!” i guess it’s because he was so sick on the way over that he rejected every meal, and now we have had such a hard time with what we assume is food-bourne illness here, he is just waiting with baited breathe for something he feels is safe. He’s also listed all the foods he wants to eat at home. I am dreaming about fresh produce and milk. We have only found UHT milk here, which is in a tetra pack and is only good for 48 hours after opening. It’s just odd.

About namaskarambaby

We are a BC couple who are about to start the process of having a baby using a gestational surrogate in India. We would like to share the process, so the steps will be clearly laid out for other couples who would like to know about this journey, as they may be in a similar situation. We also will likely stay anonymous, as this is a bit of a private process, and we are so early on in the process, that we aren't even sure it's going to work. "Namaskaram" is a greeting in Hindi (the official language of India), which is appropriate for people of all ages... I guess it's similar to Namaste, which is commonly used in the yoga community. This is our first blog, so bear with us. Stay tuned.

4 responses »

  1. Hello there. So sorry you are having such an awful time. That sucks. India is a really tough place for sure. We have that tetra pack milk too and it is never the same as back home. Yet the hotel serves lovely fresh ‘real’ milk at breakfast and I don’t know where thy get it from!!! Paul was a bit sick yesterday but it seems to be over. I think Mumbai is dirtier tha Delhi was, and perhaps harder to get around, but that may be related to the rain and the season. I am glad you have good things happening when you get home. I k kw what your hubby means about the airoplane food. I always look forward to it but often then don’t really feel that hungry and don’t always eat it, but then wish I had when I think back as it is actually very nice and quite a novelty! Have you foud Infinity Mall, Inorbit Mall or Oberoi Mall? They all have good food halls as well as heaps of clothes stores etc. very modern and clean and a world away from what is outside.
    Take care and I hope you get better soon.

    • Yes, i think we found Infinity Mall, and said Levis store. Hubby got a pair and was quite happy, as in his sickness hadn’t packed enough jeans. Our doctor described Mumbai as the ugliest place in India… So you are probably right. We did find some beauty, but mostly for photographs. Our be standout was all the pleasant staff at our hotel and the driver we hired for the tour, he was wonderful.

  2. Sorry to hear !! I understand you! I felt the same when I was there. We didn’t like the food. and felt that india didn’t like us 😦 Even the regular places like KFC, pizza hut taste different… If we need to go back, we will bring our own food…!!

Leave a Reply

